Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Skippety do-da

What a plentiful day it was for me! After racking up a good night of sleep, I awoke to sunny skies and HOT temps. Not ideal for any sort of strenuous activity, but excellent for bugs of all kinds. So, armed with plenty of liquids and both cameras, I had a bit of a backyard macro safari. I really had a hard time deciding what to blip, so have posted the other top contenders on my Blipfolio - shots include a hummingbird moth, katydid, wee black spider, fuzzy bee, and more. The blip-gods were smiling on me today.

The cats are clinging to us like velcro right now - both feeling a bit out of sorts that we were gone for a week. They rarely come out when the house/cat sitter is here, so they are a bit starved for attention. They weren't entirely happy that I was running in and out all day, but I'll make it up to them later.

Hope you like this little skipper - I have no idea what kind it is, as I find the skippers a bit confusing in their similarity. It's a tiny one, about the size of an American Nickel. I used the 10X close up filter for this and was pleased that I got this much detail. It is ridiculously hard to find the focus "sweet spot" with those filters, especially at the bigger magnification. I hope that this all translates to a shorter learning curve when I get a proper macro lens one day...

The skipper may be better in Big

Hoping you all had/have a great Sunday and that those of you in the heat-belt are managing to stay cool. I'm thinking a pitcher of margaritas may be in order tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.