Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Welcome Home!

We are back home, after a long day of travel which started when we had to set our alarms for 3:15 AM! WHAT was I thinking booking a 6:20 am flight??? Anyway, Mom and Dad dropped us off at PDX and we had a Starbucks before boarding the 5 hour flight back to Newark. Stopped on our way home at a favorite gastropub, Salt, and had a cold beer and some delicious swordfish tacos before finally arriving home. The cats were overjoyed to see us - well, as overjoyed as cats can be. It's always tricky to tell with cats - could be that they missed us, could be that they are just bored. :)

I went out to check on the garden and was surprised to see that my sunflower had burst into bloom! This is a "freebie" as it grew from some spilled birdseed - yet another benefit of feeding the birds! My window suet feeder was nearly empty, but still on the window, safe from bears and raccoons! Could it be that I've finally beaten them? Anyway, the little juvenile downy male came around to investigate while I was on the deck, perching precariously on the clothesline (him, not me). Then the hummers buzzed in to inquire about demand nectar. I couldn't decide what to blip, so I decided to give you a collage!

It is hot and sticky here, but supposed to break a bit tomorrow (getting to a chilly 88 F...) I will spend tomorrow getting settled back in, as I have a busy work week ahead.

Our week in Portland was wonderful - great to meet up with some special fellow blippers and extra special to spend some time with my parents. Wish we didn't live so far apart.

I apologize for only commenting sporadically this past week, but I have been stopping in to look at everyone's journals, and will bet back to regular commenting this week. As usual, I am seeing some amazing stuff on blip ...

Happy Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.