Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A tiger in the garden...

Eastern Tiger Swallowtail - Papilio glaucus

Another soupy, hot day with temps climbing into the 90s. About the only thing to like about days like this are the butterflies - all of whom seem to love the extreme heat. This was an easy shot - swallowtails are very photogenic and tend to stay in one place to nectar, with wings spread ever so nicely. I did crop it ever so slightly to get rid of a distracting bit in the lower corner, but this image is otherwise SOOC.

It was way too hot to go hiking today or even spend much time in the garden so I mostly ran in and out. I did get a fun shot of a blue jay parent feeding one of the kids today, and was going to blip but then decided I liked this better. I posted some other butterflies, bees, the blue jays and a couple of hummies on Flickr, starting HERE (11 shots).

I'm off to take a much needed shower and then going to whip up some Pork Larb Salad for dinner tonight - new recipe which looks really yummy.

Thank you very much for sending yesterday's Clearwing Hummingbird Moth to the Spotlight! He was back today and I couldn't resist a few more pictures. They are lovely creatures.

Happy Sunday...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.