Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Again...

I can't help myself ... I've got hummer-fever. I spent a good part of the morning outside on the patio photographing the hummers as they darted around me, buzzing and chipping. I tried some slightly slower shutter speeds today, trying to get a little more wing blur, but I haven't quite gotten that perfected yet, I'm afraid. It's challenging to keep the head in focus at slower speeds, but I'll get there.

I'm glad that the weather was nice today and that the birds were out in abundance in the yard - it was just the thing to get me out of my funk. That, and reading all of you lovely comments on yesterday's blip - thank you.

In additon to the hummers, there has been quite a lot of blue jays in the yard today (perhaps owing to the peanuts I keep putting out? - haha) And, one juvenile has decided that I am not something to be feared and has started coming out in the open when I'm outside. He/she took a very vigorous bath in the deck birdbath and then treated me to an exhibition of his insect catching skills. He gobbled down a bunch of Japanese beetles (the ones who are decimating our cherry tree, so YAY, jay!) and then snatched a small bee right out of the air as the bee zoomed past. This young jay has definitely been taught well by its parents.

A friend of mine is without AC today so she may come out and cool off at our house today - which would be lovely since she's an avid birder/photographer and won't mind a bit sitting out on the deck snapping pics and watching all the birds.

Another interesting thing I observed today was two different wasps with katydid nymphs - one of them was trying desperately to get the nymph into her nest hole but the nymph was just too big so she finally just flew off with it. Wasps are generally very good insects to have around your garden as they eat a lot of insects, including many that are harmful to gardens.

If you'd like to see a few more pics of hummers, one of the blue jay juvenile and one of the wasp w/nymph, I've posted six starting HERE with the wasp.

Happy Monday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.