ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Happy Day.

This morning, M and I walked into the woods behind the cabin, reaching the waterfront quite quickly. We found a comfortable rock in the sun and looked out over a sparkling a blue North Sea while eating nectarines. It was so hot we decided to take the boat to the Omlands' island summerhouse again and sunbathe. As a write (in a journal, to upload to Blip later), I'm lying on our reindeer skin, in just bikini bottoms and a vest top, while M fishes less than 1/4 mile away. Two ducks fly overhead below an azure sky - perhaps they are the pair that come to the French doors of the hytte at night, begging for stale bread.

This morning M woke me to tell me there were two swans outside who looked hungry; luckily I'd saved the end slice of our Gorillabrød so they got a huge chunk! When M returns, we might head back to the cabin and make ourselves a picnic lunch. A and L arrive tomorrow for M's birthday, so tonight I'll make a cake.

I can hear the bells of the goats on the neighbouring island and the tapping of the rope against the flagpole by the boathouse. Just little details but I want to remember today.

- Edit -
I forgot to take photos today; too much fun to be had. This is the view from our bedroom at 11pm... It doesn't get very dark here. Later this evening, M and I curled up with a drink and a pack of cards, and listened to the radio. The Mavericks: 'I just want to dance the night away' came on, and M and I had a dance round the living room together. Perfection. Happy. Can't imagine being more happy. I might pop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.