Take nothing but pictures

It's been a busy old day.

The plan was that I collected the passengers at 10:00 to set off to Watford. At 09:00 the phone rang and it was Cal telling me that he'd arranged an appointment to see a doctor - I'd mithered him about this last night - and could I take him and, by the way, it was at 9:30............ Frantic bathing, dressing, etc to get out to collect him and found that the little lane I live on was carrying as much traffic as I might expect on the M20. Battled through to collect him and said we'd go the "main road" way to the surgery but he explained that the main road was closed for road works hence the traffic along the lane - which I had to rejoin to get him to his appointment. I did some errands while he was being seen and then back along the lane with lots of folk who don't know where the passing places are so it was tricky. Cal was heading for work so we crammed everyone in the car with lots of luggage and an ironing board. I was glad to be driving because at least I had a seat!

Dropped Cal and headed for the Dartford crossing. Slightly before the M25 the matrix signs suggested long delays past the tunnel and this was checked on Google to show an additional hour if I carried on that way. Soooooooooo left on the M25 rather than right and all the way round the Heathrow stretch. Finally made it to Watford where we unloaded and then reloaded as I was to drop some stuff at a charity shop, including the now redundant ironing board, and then back to drop off the crew and home. Because I came back over the bridge I've done almost the whole M25. The only bit missing is between J19 and J21.

I must be getting old because I feel rather jaded now; I used to do this kind of trip and an eight or nine hour working day in there too! 

You'll have got there already but for those who haven't - the passengers were Jemma and Scott and this is their sofa with the initialled cushions. I suppose they help when it comes to fighting over  who sits where.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.