The Pretty Side of Storm Jonas/Gertrude

We're lucky here in Northeast England that the effects of Storm Jonas have been relatively mild. It's been moderately windy and (judging by the puddles) it must have rained a fair bit overnight but it's not been nearly as bad as in some parts of the country. We usually do escape the worst of the storms as the Pennine Hills provide some shelter from westerly winds; geography was never my strong point at school but I seem to recall something about "rain shadow areas" so we're probably in one!

Anyway I popped out with my camera this morning on a blipsearch and was lucky enough to be treated to this nice rainbow. When my Editor saw the picture she pointed out that the gold is meant to be at the end of the rainbow, not in the sky above it...I then confessed that the gold effect in the clouds resulted from my faffing in Lightroom; it wasn't intentional but I decided I rather liked it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.