Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

SKY

I escaped from the paperwork for a short time this afternoon to take a wee walk up Windy Hill.  Our village is surrounded by pastoral land* but is close to a huge conurbation and an international airport, so it is always a source of wonder that a 15 minute drive leads to a large wilderness area.  There was no-one else up there on this drizzly afternoon - which is just as well as I am a  tree-hugger, a puddle-jumper and a resin-sniffer, not having the decorum that befits a lady of my advancing years.  I wandered through the Sitka Spruce plantation and onto the hillside.  The plantation does not encourage diversity so it is gradually being replaced by native trees, but meanwhile it is my chief supply of the cones I use it my business.  Sitka may not be the environmentalist tree of choice, but the cones are the most musical I know.  I had neither phone nor camera on my ramble, but who needs digital imagery when the experience flows through the finger tips to the heart?

Later, I glanced up from my desk, startled by the brightness. This is the biggest blue I've seen since we left Spain. 

The extra is a hook outside the Weavers Cottage.  I am compiling a wee collection of 'door furniture' for the photography course I'm taking and may share the occasional shot with you - if you're good.  

*Ah, but for how long?   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.