White Wagtail(Motacilla alba)

This is the most numerous and widespread of the Wagtails here in Oman. This one is still in his Autumn plumage, but he will soon have a black cap and bib. Until you really look it is difficult to understand how the birds coverage of feathers works and how beautifully intricate the variations of colour and texture. I'm very, very pleased with my new camera(have I already said that?)but what I am amazed at is how it seems to be able to extract so much extra detail from the Sigma lens, if you look closely and in large every little nuance of the plumage has been captured, it really is quite magical!
The book I use for identification of birds says this bird is rather dull in the Winter, I say the opposite, especially when you look at how incredible his feathers are and how immaculate he keeps them. He's also a very cheerful and constantly bobbing bird and he's a real character, he also very kindly stopped bobbing for a few seconds for a portrait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.