Egyptian Vulture(Neophron percnopterus)

A fantastic start to the weekend with a whole family trip, crossing the Al Hajar mountains from Ibra to Tiwi, with an incredible stop to visit the Bat Tombs on the Salma Plateau at 1,700 metres above sea level. I didn't take my bird photography set up(Nikon and Sigma) but my Pentax K5, general purpose lens(18-250mm) and my super wide 10-20mm for landscapes. Half way to visit the first waypoint, I so wished I had taken my Nikon as there were so many birds to see, including Lappet-faced Vultures, Imperial Eagles and an incredible Masked Strike all birds I failed to photograph, apart from this adult Egyptian Vulture, who was just in range on top of a telegraph pole. Now I've got to go back, but it is over an eight hour trip there and back. The extra is the dramatic view of the illuminated Bat Tombs by the dying rays of the sun, this is at 1,700 metres above sea level.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.