stujphoto

By stujphoto

Waverley Station by Night

As I was travelling into Edinburgh to attend the Photographic Society yesterday, I thought I might try another another sot of Edinburgh by night (do I feel a series in the making ?). This time I chose to shoot Waverley Station from Regent Road. I purposely went there in daylight to recce the shot and had just got my tripod set up at the top of some steps when the rain came on. That was a blessing in disguise as a parking meter attendant was approaching and I had not bought a parking ticket. I got back to the car just in time.

The rain was really heavy so I went off to a shopping centre to relax with a coffee and then returned about an hour and a half later by which time the rain had stopped. It proved difficult to cope with the bright lights of the station and heavy shadow around but by underexposing I was able get a reasonable shot. Unfortunately there were no trains entering the station but as  I was shooting at about 8 seconds they would have just been a blur.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.