Needing an emergency blip....

This morning as it was a sunny day I took one of my SLRs and a compact camera out with me on my walk with the dogs hoping to be inspired sufficiently to take some shots. However, just about ten minutes into the walk I missed my footing and ended up falling down a small bank into a stream, well more a rivulet. I was lying on my back in the stream and struggled to get up. My camera was in my LowPro Daypack on my back and my compact was in my anorak side pocket. My day sack was, of course soaked on the outside but after I had established I was OK in myself I checked to see it the SLR was wet. and it was a bit damp. Fortunately the front of my anorak had escaped a soaking mainly because the day sack kept the bulk of my body out of the water so the compact was unaffected. 

As I felt OK in myself, no bumps or bruises, though I had a very wet bottom and trousers and damp socks, I decided to complete the walk for the dogs as I did not feel like going home, showering and cleaning up and then setting out on the walk about an hour later. Fortunately my wellingtons had not taken in much water so I was not squelching along. 

After about three quarters of an hour's discomfort I arrived home and was just so relieved to get out of my sodden clothing, have a shower and put clean clothes on. My camera gear surprisingly was alright. The SLR was slightly damp but functioning fine, Even my doubler which was in an outside netting pocket of the daypack and consequently much wetter functioned perfectly, once I had dried it off. The LowPro Day Sack needed the mud brushed off, wiping  clean and drying throughout  but it had served me very well.

That's why I was looking for an emergency blip this afternoon and used my longest lens from the comfort of the living room to capture some birds at the feeder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.