IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Snowdrops on a Clear Chill Afternoon

It was a beautiful day. Bright and chill, a slight ground frost with clear skies and later, streaks of high cirrus. I was working in the morning and then I got an unexpected break as someone cancelled a session and I found myself looking forward to being outside. It was cold but I wrapped up well, and spent a couple of hours cutting the grass. I think it's the first time I have ever cut the grass in January but it certainly needed it. 
There are lots of signs of spring around. The drifts of snowdrops in the hedge along the southern edge of the garden are flowering abundantly and the pink red flowers of ornamental quince are blooming on leafless stems. In the hedge around the meadow, the catkins are hanging like little green prayer flags from the young hazel trees. I expect we will get another cold snap at some point and  I hope it won't shock the plants and shrubs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.