Alpha et Omega

One Speech Day when I was in the sixth form at school (about 43 years ago!) the speaker used a quote from TS Eliot's Little Gidding: 

 "What we call the beginning is often the end. And to make an end is to make a beginning. The end is where we start from."


Since then I have been fascinated by the idea that life is a continuum, a circle, and ending must necessarily be followed by a beginning.  I am involved with two funerals at the moment.  That's a lot of family members facing a new beginning after an ending.  A time of sadness and difficulty.  I also have several friends who are gradually retiring and adjusting their ideas to deal with the changes and excitement generated by a change in lifestyle and the wonderful opportunities that brings...

Then I looked at my faded amaryllis, its beauty, its delicate, paper thin texture, its colour, its shapes.  If I look after it well, it will be back next year in its full-blown glory, but the care starts now...

I hope you like this shot. I have really enjoyed playing with being off auto this week.  End of auto?  Beginning of exciting times with the camera.

Talking of beginnings:  don't forget the Dickens challenge.

Link to Dickens Challenge is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.