The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

New Year's Day Breakfast in Colombo

At last I have succeeded in unloading this image! It is the unedited image, but I am relieved to have got this far after only a week of trying...

Una and me and CleanSteve went out for breakfast at a cafe called Wright and Co, overlooking the Indian Ocean and the railway line. I felt as if I should be hungover but I wasn't!_CleanSteve and I had seen the New Year in on the roof, watching firecrackers explode all over the city, and exchanging promises about finally finishing the bathroom DIY project back home in the UK.

So I ordered a very cleansing apple and beetroot juice along with the more trad cooked offerings. Steve and Una chose brighter more palatable juices. Steve is wearing one of his new shirts from the House of Fashion, to which we all paid several visits.

Afterwards we lay on the roof again and frazzled in the sun while reading, before going to the outdoor pool at a place called Water's Edge, which is situated in parkland that used to be a golf course, but has now been given back to the people. Or so it is said. We has the vast pool to ourselves, which was peaceful in the extreme. I was reading The Tea Planter's Wife, which was turning out to be addictive.

Later, we returned to the house and had a non-Sri Lankan feast of cheeses of Europe and cured meats from the freezer, while the firecrackers started up again and we prepared to tranquillise Malibu the chihuahua for the second night running....

I can' think of a better way to spend New Year's Day. Must remember this one, in the years to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.