Along Spring Creek: Angel Mist Rising

There have been two places that I have been missing these past few weeks, that I wanted to visit as soon as my car was back in business. The one was Millbrook, which I visited yesterday.

The second was Spring Creek canyon. When I awoke, it was a very cold morning, around 17 degrees F on our front porch. I wondered if the frost mist would be rising over the creek, so I went on a tiny adventure to find out.

My first quick stop was along the spillway near the rusty bridge. In the frigid morning air, some wonderful ice formations were being born, even as I watched. I included a photo of one of the more interesting bits of ice in the extras.

But the main show of the morning was the frost mist, lifting up like angels over the cold, cold creek and rising toward the altar of the sun. In fact, perhaps that is how I shall think of it now: angel mist rising.

The soundtrack . . . In November, Willie Nelson received the Library of Congress's Gershwin Prize for Popular Song. The concert was recorded and it was broadcast about two weeks ago. My husband and I caught  just a few minutes of it one Friday night on a local public television station.

Among the performers who honored Willie was Alison Krauss, who sang two songs, both about angels (which makes total sense to me, as she has the voice of an angel): Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground, and (with Jamey Johnson) Seven Spanish Angels. The latter is a particular favorite of mine. Please have a listen, you will be so glad you did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.