The Red Elm in Winter

This is a photo of one of my favorite trees in winter time. As I was taking it - and about a hundred other variations on this theme - light snow flakes were falling, and the wind was blowing them onto my lips like chilly winter-angel kisses.

I've photographed this tree about a half-dozen times over the past year, and I'm including links to all of them I can remember here, just to keep them all together. It seems I'm developing some kind of obsession.

Red Elm Under a Blue and White Winter Sky

The Tree of Life (for Susan)

The Red Elm in Summertime

Tree of Light

The Red Elm: From Darkness Into Light

Sunrise Through the Red Elm in Mist

My husband is giving me an assist on the Blip today. I allowed him to select which of my many photos of this tree to post, and asked for his suggestion on the music. Between the two of us, we came up with George Winston, a favorite piano player.

This just may be my favorite Winston song ever, and I am thrilled to share it with you, to accompany this photo of one of my favorite trees: Variations on the Kanon by Pachelbel.

If you just go and fall in love with the song, as I did, here's a link to the whole album, December (which I rate among my most favorite albums, ever). Those who own the album will remember that its cover features a photo of bare winter trees. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.