cjshields

By AroundHome

Hungry Eagles

Two juvenile eagles went after a great blue heron. I thought they were going to kill the heron.  It escaped, but in the photo this juvenile is following the heron. A little earlier one of the juveniles twice unsuccessfully attacked a group of geese downstream. The eagles must be hungry to be going after large birds.

I've not been able to get an in-focus photo of a fast moving bird with trees in the background until today.  I use dynamic 9 point continuous autofocusing for birds in flight, and believe that as the camera pans it sees the trees as dynamic moving objects and focuses on them. Today I was in a hurry to see the eagle/heron ruckus, jumping out of the car and grabbing the camera but failing to change focus from 5 point static to 9 point dynamic. My failure worked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.