a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Bus in motion

This is an exercise in panning a moving object to blur the background whilst keeping the subject sharply in focus.  I took it in Park Street Bristol earlier today with the little Sony RX100 on my lunchtime walk.  (Its a lot easier on the Nikon DSLR with its predictive autofocus).  Also, the bus wasn't really moving fast enough to enable me to get enough background blur.

I had been trying for a cyclist coming down the hill, but for whatever reason there were none around, and then just as I had one nicely in vision a large black four by four pulled up and parked on double yellow lines right in front of me.  Words failed me, well polite words anyway.  

So I settled for this shot instead it is not great, but it will do.  You will see that the back end of the bus is blurred but the front if sharp.  I've not done this deliberately.  It had me puzzled at first, because the front and the back of the bus are obviously all going to be moving at the same velocity, so if I had the panning at the right speed the whole of the moving object should be in focus.  Then I realised that the aperture was set  too wide, it would have been fine for a bicycle, just not for something as large as a bus.  

There's so much to learn!

I've been at band rehearsal this evening, hence my only getting this uploaded at 11:30pm and that is also my excuse for not properly catching up with Blip today.  I shall try again tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.