SATURDAY ON THE STREETS

Mr HCB and I went into town early this morning as one of our favourite coffee shops is closing and we wanted to wish the owners, Josh and Veronica well.  Veronica makes the most wonderful cakes so of course we both had one - well, on their last day, it would have been rude not to, wouldn't it?

Time then to go into the bank to TRY and pay some money in - our bank now has machines where once they had human beings and I must admit I don't like them - the machines that is!  Whoever said that machines made it quicker to pay money in were wrong as I had nothing but aggravation, but managed it eventually. 

I had seen this man sitting on a seat outside the bank with what looked like all his worldly goods in a shopping trolley.  He had an old duvet wrapped around him, which he needed because it was very cold - and I'd made up my mind to buy him a hot drink when I had finished in the bank.  However, when I came out, I saw he already had one - so will buy him one the next time I see him. 

So sad that in this day and age, that there are those who spend their days and nights on the streets while we often pass by on the other side.  

We think sometimes that poverty 
     is only being hungry, 
          naked and homeless. 
The poverty of being unwanted, 
     unloved and uncared for 
          is the greatest poverty. 
We must start in our own homes 
     to remedy this kind of poverty.
Mother Teresa


P.S.  The installation of the superhub went well, as you must have guessed, because I am still here!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.