snailspace

By snailspace

Really? More?

Wet, windy, dismal. I could do with getting out and collecting some new pebbles to play with but it's horrible out there and also access to the beach is difficult, with all the weed that has been thrown up by the storms.

Recently our island was awarded a lump of cash with which to provide some learning courses. We have a new learning officer and I met with her this week to plan some knitting workshops. 

I am keen to do something quite perky and to get away from the notion of just casting on and knitting a stocking stitch square or making a plain scarf. I have unearthed some books and am currently gaining ideas and making outline plans. Wondering what on earth I have let myself in for...

...but not as much so as on the learning side, as opposed to the delivery. I have had my booking confirmed for attending a course in Contemporary Drawing, so I thought I had better look it up and find out what exactly Contemporary Drawing is. I fear I have bitten off more than I can chew!

Also on the near horizon -  Tai Chi.

and I may yet offer my services to teach bread-making,  if a teacher is still required.

Gertrude left us unscathed. We had one gust of 94 mph but mean speeds kept us well within a Force 10, so nothing too dreadful. The power stayed on! Some snow overnight but it soon turned to slush this morning.  Today's boat was cancelled, as were all of yesterday's boats. Supplies will be running low soon. Our spare parts for the fire, ordered on 15th December, are out there .... somewhere - but we have yet to see them. Not sure we could get the fire going anyway since Gertie took the cowl from the chimney.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.