Elemental

It was a magnificent, elemental winter's day. Cold and windy, with a succession of quite violent little snow storms, each punctuated by a brief burst of bright sunshine. My favourite kind of weather really. I love all that drama and the sharp contrasts. It's the kind of day made for my kind of opportunistic photography, covering the ground, moving quickly to try to be in the right place when the appropriate weather strikes, be that sun or snow. 

I was out for a couple of hours all told, perhaps not the most sensible thing with my left calf and right knee both having incapacitated me recently, but I've always considered life too short to be sensible! I seem to have survived, albeit with a little residual soreness. It was worth it. It's quite a long time since I've had such a difficult task choosing which shot to post. It was simply a great day for photography. And a great day to be out in the weather. 

To quote the great Alfred Wainwright, “There's no such thing as bad weather, only unsuitable clothing.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.