The Cow and Calf Selfie

Yesterday's incredibly dramatic weather was replaced today by a uniform greyness and wetness, although fortunately not as wet as the forecast suggested and the hill fog actually gave some good photographic opportunities. Feeling no ill effects from yesterday, I went for another run, although much shorter, trying to be sensible ... for once.

I was talking the other day about my recent blips and it was remarked how I so often seem to be in the right place at the right time. I used to think of this as pure luck, and although there is, of course, a fair bit of luck involved, I do believe you make your own luck by simple observation and anticipation. A few of the street shots last week were a product of watching events unfold and moving quickly to be in a position to get the shot I was anticipating. The rockers and the woman fighting the brolly were both cases in point. 

Today was the same. I saw this group walking towards the crags, with one of them carrying a selfie-stick. I anticipated what they were going to do, took a detour from my running route, and positioned myself ready for the shot I was after. They duly obliged! Blip in the can!!

By the way, this is possibly my very favourite example of anticipating the moment, taken of exactly the same spot.

I've had so many lovely and witty comments lately, but despite best intentions, I keep running out of time to respond to even a few of them. All I can say is thank you for all your wonderful support. You keep me going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.