Reykjavik

We spent the day in Reykjavik today and after a walk to the harbour, we explored the city which really is lovely.  We walked to the cathedral and took the lift to the top of the clock tower where there's a 360 degree view. Walking around the city, we came across some graffiti that looks like it could be a Banksy - having googled it, it's mentioned a lot, but no-one seems to know if it's genuine.  I've put a photo in my extras so let me know what you think.

Then tonight has to be the highlight of our trip - the Northern Lights which put on the most amazing show!  We drove to Thingvellir National Park where there's no light pollution and the first thing to see were all the stars, I've never seen so many - we even saw a few shooting stars!

We stood around for a little while before the lights made an appearance, and at first there was just a slight glow, but then they became much stronger.  It's amazing how they moved and how quickly the shape changed.  Unfortunately, I couldn't capture them on my camera, so gave up and just enjoyed the show.

We stood in the snow for about 2 hours watching them, and it was -9 degrees but it was well worth it.  Then on the coach home, they continued to perform for us and travelled with us for some time.

So unfortunately I don't have any photos to share with you, other than two prints that I bought today which I've put in my extras along with a few others from today.

It's now 1am and we're just back at the hotel and believe it or not the aurora was above us again! I can't believe how lucky we've been - even the tour host said it was a  particularly good display.

I can't believe it, I've just checked my camera and I have captured the lights!  Only two images, but I've got them!  I'll add them to my extras when I get home and can upload them.

Anyway I'd better say goodnight as we have to be up early in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.