Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Pope Francis

Heading to the Pantheon, there were an awful lot of people queuing for the Vatican so I asked a shopkeeper what was going on. She told me that it was because the Vatican Museums are free on the last Sunday of the month, and then added that the Pope was giving Mass today too!

I'm not a Catholic and am no fan of any religion, but this seemed like an unmissable opportunity. Back I went to St Peter's Square and hung around for almost two hours to see him. I thought I'd got a pretty good spot, close to the Basilica, but then he went and gave Mass from a different building so he was just a bit of a dot really.

You could have heard a pin drop as he was speaking, except for the guy next to me who was on his mobile for part of it. Very disrespectful to those around him, I thought. An incredible experience though.

The Pantheon was great. So lovely just to wander the streets - it's all so beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.