Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Annie's Time To Shine

A few words from me (Chris), I'm sure Annie will want to add some more later.

Annie ran with the Olympic Torch in Oxford this evening as part of the relay. What an amazing event, Annie was fantastic with absolute madness going on around her. People desperate for a photo with her and the torch before she even set off!! We have started but will add to the shots in the Blipfolio later when Annie gets a chance to review them!

Special thanks to Keith and Matthew for making the trip over to Oxford, hope you guys got some great photos and thank you again Matthew for the lift back to the Park and Ride, the girls appreciated it.

EDIT: From Annie, once recovered...

Well, what an incredible day, and one I won't forget. In the run up to this I'd not really known what to expect, but as the day wore on the excitement built and built.

Getting the Park and Ride bus into Oxford in full white torchbearer livery was very strange. Having to walk to the meeting point over muddy South Park was not good for the white trousers and trainers. We waited to board the bus while Dan from Daybreak (so I was told) buzzed around filming - he was also running. I was overjoyed to see my old friend Maureen and to discover that we were next-but-one neighbours in the relay. Sat in the bus, we all introduced ourselves and why we'd been nominated - lovely to meet such a great collection of people. I'm not sure everyone realises, but the majority of people running with the flame were nominated for their volunteer work  or personal fortitude - you can read their stories here.

The trip in the bus was incredible: we were first in the convoy, and wore out our arms waving. As each torchbearer was about to leave the bus, they were handed a torch and stood at the front of the bus. I wish I'd had a sign to say, "No, that's not the actual torch yet", watching the disappointed faces seeing it go past in a bus. Is that it?! No - there's a runner behind us...

As each person left the bus we gave a rousing cheer, and when it came to my turn I was sickly nervous watching all the crowds. I felt very small, but I couldn't contain the broad grin that crept onto my face and stayed there the rest of the day. I bounced off the bus and was quickly buried in a crowd 8 deep trying to touch the torch. I'd been told not to let go of it at this point: embarrassing to not have it when the other runner appears. It was wonderful to see so many friends and family there to see me off - I really appreciated it, even if I did look a little shell-shocked. Particularly great to also see fellow blippers Keith and Matthew there - I love your shots, guys - can I steal them for a photo book?

The moment when the "kiss" happened and my flame was lit was awesome: they'd said earlier on to remember that at that moment you are the only one in the world carrying the Olympic flame (forget the back-up just for a moment). Wow. Just don't drop it, Annie.

I meant to do a slow jog to milk my moment, but I went a little faster than intended. No 4-minute mile, but to run, hold the torch up, smile and wave is a lot to remember. All too soon there was the next torchbearer, and the flame passed on. I'd done my 300 metres, so the flame wouldn't stop short of the Olympic stadium on my account.

The evening was spent in South Park, lending my torch out to people to hold and photograph. They only needed reminding once that I was doing them a favour and stop squabbling over who goes next. Special thanks to the small girl who thrust the torch back to me with such gusto having had her picture taken that she thumped me on the head with it. But my favourite guest holder was 15 month old Daisy, grasping it with both her little hands. It was great also to see the Australian family again that I'd been chatting to on the bus in (sorry about the weather, guys). That being said, we were so lucky it didn't rain on us - white is such a revealing colour.

I was sad that Chris had to take the girls back to their mum's right after the run, missing out all the evening. I hope they had fun seeing their stepmum mobbed by people, and sorry I couldn't talk to them as much as I'd have liked at the time. Rosie - cool torch you've made there.

A lovely evening ended with a glass of wine and chatting to Anne, David and Ruth. They came from Cambridge and York to see me run - thanks, guys. :)

Just, wow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.