Saudi Arabian Ammonite

I captured this shot in a mini-interlude of sunshine this afternoon.

It's the Jurassic ammonite from Saudi Arabia that I took a macro photograph of last week.

I am not so sure that this is a fossil of the animal itself. I think it's much more likely to be a calcareous cast made when Tertiary deposits infilled an eroded mould. The calcrete hardens in situ.

Basil and I went back to The Outwoods and Jubilee Wood on the outskirts of Loughborough for one final search for my missing camera bag and lens, since the ground is bare other than with leaf mould and mud. No luck.

Then I treated myself to a hot chocolate and gluten free scone outside Oakley Road Tearoom on Hathern Road. A bit windy but not biting cold. The proprietor came outside for a chat.

Captcha Christmas dinner in the evening. Good chat and a bit of a laugh. I amazed Hayley when I said I would be prepared to photograph male nudes. She says the next time she gets a request, she'll get me to do the photography!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.