fs2012

By FrankS

Book Marks

Being Monday it was back to work after a day off last Monday for my birthday. All through the final years of real work, I always ensured I took my birthday of as holiday. In fact I think everyone should be entitled not to have to go to work on their birthdays, it's not much to ask is it? One year the Queen was coming to Solihull to open the new shopping centre, Touchwood (no, not Torchwood that's in Cardiff and it's where John Barrowman lives LOL). Anyway although she asked for me personally to be there, I declined as the opening date was 2nd July.

Right enough of this fiction - work at the shop this afternoon. Luckily they'd managed to scrape together a few books for listing so I wasn't bored.

During one of my many breaks I was wandering around downstairs and decided to take a photo of the Book Mark wall. Hidden away behind the children's section, this wall holds many of the varying things we find inside books that are donated to us - book marks, postcards, invoices, letters, photographs etc. I once found three unused tickets to a Nirvana concert at Aston Villa for 31st March 1994, days before Kurt Cobain was found dead at his home in Seattle on 8th April 1994, having committed suicide on the 5th. I sold them on eBay with the proceeds going to the Shakespeare Hospice.

See Nirvana Tickets.

Emma's first day at work today - she's off to have a tour of the Jaguar Land Rover works in Birmingham tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.