It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

The Tri

Today was one of the best days in ages. Trish from work had asked me if I would go along to a junior triathlon and take some pictures of the young athletes and I was more than happy to oblige.

The day started quite early as I had to get out to Knutsford which on a Sunday is only possible by bike, if I want to get there before mid-day. The weather forecast was slightly ominous but I got nothing but warm sunshine on the way out.

Well, what a remarkable day! I think the first athletes were about 8 years old, and if judging by technique alone, some may as well have been elite. I've rarely seen such good transition techniques and natural running styles as today. The speed some of the kids were running at was quite amazing too.

I was so excited to see such potential. In recent years, Britain has become very successful in a number of sports, including my own (cycling) simply because we've learnt to develop and nurture talent in the right way. The talent has always been there though.

Of course, there were still one or two pushy parents around who clearly want to do the best for their kids, but were going the wrong way about encouraging them! I wish they could have seen themselves! Fortunately, they didn't manage to put a downer on the day.

My cycle home was fun and I somehow managed to dodge all the heavy showers. Stupidly, I hadn't eaten all day so felt rubbish when I got home and my recovery from an 85km cycle has been far slower than it should have been!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.