Abandoned

Dear Diary,

I have driven by this old abandoned farm house for years and I finally stopped to photograph it.  Over the years the window glass was all broken out, helped along by rocks it seems, and now the front door has blown open revealing an intricately painted wall that is so innocuous to me.

Being in a very metaphorical frame of mind lately, I immediately seized on the obvious.  No matter our worn down we get on the outside we still have beauty and richness inside.  Once, a family lived here but now I suspect it is occupied by squirrels, raccoon and skunks.  Someday it will collapse completely under the weight of heavy winter snow but these old houses were build strong and despite its sad condition it carries on year after year.  It is what we all must do...carry on as best we can.

If a groundhog popped its head up in my backyard today he would not see his shadow.  A storm is approaching although they say it will likely turn to rain with the relatively mild temperatures.  A small blessing.

Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.     -- Kahlil Gibran

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.