Crown Mines

I unbuttoned my shirt and headed into Poldark territory. They call it the Tin Coast and it is littered with mining remains. The road snakes through rugged stone built hamlets and farm buildings and along to Botallack. 

The Crown Mines are probably the most celebrated (and photographed) tin mines. The land is looked after by the National Trust and I've been looking forward to getting to here for a while. There's something about the position of the buildings on the cliffs which looks quite romantic although I'm sure this is very much against the reality of working here and mining down and under the sea. It must have been a very hard life and many lives were lost.

If I thought the wind was strong yesterday, it was as nothing compared to today. I made my way along the coast path and down to some of the different viewpoints. You can see from my image how the seas were crashing against the cliffs. There was some good light while I was there but the wind was blowing the salt spray high up and coating the front of my filters. I'm pleased with the photos I got and if you'd like to see more you'll find them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.