Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Tree Nymph

Two mistakes in visiting Wisley today. The first was leaving it a little late and the second was forgetting my butterfly lens which, since photographing exotic butterflies was the object of the exercise, was something of an omission. I liked the context of this one - the repeating leaf fronds.

We used the guide from last year since we were two screwy to pay the £1 for a new guide. That too was a mistake as there were a few species new to Wisley. I might go back tomorrow to see what the other lens can produce. If so I'll try to get there a bit earlier and travel light. It was seriously hot and it takes 10 minutes to acclimatise the lens. I've started a gallery for the exotics, must find all their names now.

I went down to the waste again, looking for the short-eared owl. It turned up at about 4.40 pm in reasonable light but decided to visit the part where we'd waited for it yesterday. We were perfectly placed then, only 24 hours early. Still it was great to watch it through the binoculars. I might try for that one tomorrow except I need to be in and working for a chunk of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.