Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Smoked Mackerel

Have given up on trying to blip the Sandpiper chicks as they are just too illusive and fast to get a decent shot. I thought I had one this morning as it walked up the line of the fence only a few yards from the lounge window I was at. However, by the time I had the camera focussed, it was scurrying away as fast as its wee legs could take it, with the result being a very blurry rear view! Anyway, they are now out of the garden in some heavy undergrowth so I am unlikely to get another opportunity.

Instead, I decided to blip our dinner tonight, which was 4 fillets from the mackerel we caught last Friday. Our favourite way of cooking them is to use a little smoker our sons gave me for my birthday a few years ago. It has been the best present ever and is used several times each summer, mostly to smoke some of the fish we catch.

The tin box containing the mackerel, with some oak dust under the grill, is simply placed over a small container of burning methylated spirits for about 20 minutes and - hey presto - perfect hot smoked mackerel! You can just make out some of the smoke at the top left of the blip, which was taken half way through the process.

And the proof of the pudding? Yes, they were absolutely delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.