Circles

As I was cycling along the towpath this afternoon the circles and uprights of this sculpture stopped me dead. I told Roy, busy making more loops, that I thought it was beautiful. He told me he used to be a groundsman and he was picturing how it would grow, especially where he’d twisted two uprights together. His mate Mark came over to join the chat. Mark introduced me to his rescue dog, told me he used to be a brickie and said that he, his wife and the dog have been living a bit further down the river in a tent for the last 18 months. I asked whether they got cold. He told me it was fine; they have a heater in the tent. I didn’t tell him what went through my mind but he must have known. He told me about another homeless person who had petrol then a lit match thrown at him. 

Roy didn’t tell me where he sleeps but was happy to talk about his sculpture. He wanted to make a heart next. I asked if I could take a picture and post it on the internet. Grin. ‘Worldwide fame!’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.