Arachne

By Arachne

Overlapping

I’d arranged to meet a community worker at a new community centre today. I was very interested in what she was doing from the perspective of two of my jobs and moderately interested from the perspective of a third. As L arrived she looked vaguely familiar but lots of people do so I let it pass and we got chatting.
 
It turned out that she has three part-time jobs, and is also collaborating with the organisation I left last August (as is one of the organisations I currently work for). The two of us had masses of interests in common and started swapping useful information and making connections among six different organisations. It was probably the most efficient bit of networking I’ve ever done.
 
Then 15 minutes in L said she thought I looked familiar, but perhaps it was only because I reminded her of a family friend, HM. Now, as it happens, I sing in the same choir as HM, and my son, S plays in the same band as HM’s son, B.

‘So you know B,’ I assumed.
‘Oh yes.’
‘So do you know S? He’s my son.’
Oh yes, very well. My brother is R.
 
Until a month ago, my son S and her brother R were sharing a house and had done for three years. And it turned out that a year or so ago L and I had spent a whole evening together over a meal there.

I've been in and around voluntary organisations in Oxford a long time now and it often turns out that I already know people who others mention to me or introduce me to. But this was a whole step up.

A prize to the first person who emails me the full name of anyone (apart from my son) mentioned here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.