Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Sun rising over Callum

So promising to see a sunrise on the morning feeding chores. Even managed to clean the windows on the house which were filthy after all the storms. I met husband coming up the drive and we caught one of my ewes who was looking a bit poorly. I noticed she hadn't been turning up to the feeding and having found her I thought it best to bring her in and give her some tlc. Just after we caught her and put her in the pick up a rain shower hit.

Husband and fellow stalker went after some hinds on our ground this morning for the hind cull. They managed to get a couple so I got Dris out and put his harness and long line on and tracked onto them The first one we approached from the wrong side for the blood trail but he smelt it and went up to it and I praised him profusely. We then tracked up on the other one with the wind in the right direction I definitely saw a light bulb go on in Dris's head as he put together all the scent work and then tracked up on deer like he realises what he is to find at the end after finding the blood scent. He was very pleased with himself after that! We did find out that he has filled out since I bought his tracking harness so I am going to have to buy him a new one!

6c 7mph W sunshine and showers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.