A Grand Day Out

Helen and I made the most of the break in this awful weather to walk on Ilkley Moor today.  We set off up to the top of the Moor via White Wells and then crossed to Backstone Beck where we turned south to seek out the Poetry Seat.  It was unsurprisingly boggy along the path but worth it for the views.  Neither of us had a pen and paper to put some poems into the Poetry Postbox at the seat so I gave a recitation from memory of my favourite poem, 'He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven' and Helen sang one of her favourite songs.  I have go-pro'd her wonderful performance and will hopefully be able to link to it at some point.  From the Poetry Seat we retraced our steps to Backstone Beck and then followed the beck down towards Ilkley in search of the Beckstone Stanza Stone, one of several across our part of the world which Helen and I 'collect' from time to time.

Back in Ilkley Helen treated me to a yummy lunch of soup and choccy cake, thank you Helen!

My blip shows Helen on the track up to the top of the moor from White Wells, we had fantastic views today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.