Robert Ostrochovsky

By youoregon1

Power Tool - Threshold

The greatest thinkers didn’t adhere to conventional wisdom about what’s “supposed” to work.
Creativity is your power tool regardless of whether the problem you’re solving is a musical scale, a business plan, a painting on canvas or a line of code.


Pablo Picasso: “To know what you’re going to draw, you have to begin drawing… When I find myself facing a blank page, that’s always going through my head. What I capture in spite of myself interests me more than my own ideas.”
Inspiration then, comes not from the original idea — but from what happens when you allow yourself to start working without restriction or fear of “messing up.” In order to find a great idea, you have to start backwards: First start working.


Stephen King: “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. There’s no way around these two things that I’m aware of, no shortcut.”
Start with a small quota for yourself and work on your craft every day.


Albert Einstein: …was also an amateur violinist and pianist. He often incorporated ideas from his musical background into his physics work…
…use those visualizations as puzzle pieces and test different arrangements and orientations to see which pieces fit together. Combine seemingly disparate elements and look for new patterns. Play.
 

The complete Time article.

Tomorrow is Abstract Thursday, please create and tag it AT32

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.