Comparisons

An explanation of this is definitely needed.

Last night of the digital photography course and we were looking at images today. Very interesting. I think I enjoyed today more than any of the other sessions. Here's the tutor drawing a comparison between a Marks and Spencer's ad for a chocolate cake and Courbet's L'Origine du monde (link NSFW - now you understand why I went for the photograph where the arm was strategically placed to avoid upsetting the Blip decency police).

I'll leave you to figure out the details of why the comparison works, but it's something to do with the firmness of the fork cutting through the moist interior of the cake.

Or something like that.

I may have got it all garbled.

I think you will all be pleased that next Wednesday I'll be back to photographing Leith Walk shops. I did photograph one today, but in the end this image had to win.

We had to take in, and discuss, a photograph we liked taken by someone else. I chose this one. Or more particularly the colour variant in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.