Poetry Night

To the Scottish Poetry library this evening to hear one of our Fellows (Glenda Norquay) speaking on modern Scottish women poets. Then in the second half of a double bill, Liz Lochhead in conversation with the SPL's Colin Waters. She was amazing, and very funny. I've never heard her before.

I'm not good at reading poetry, but I do quite like listening to it being read out. And I certainly enjoyed the bits I heard this evening - both Liz's and some other bits that Glenda incorporated in her talk.  At the end, I asked her (Lzi) if she thought she was a dangerous woman. To my astonishment, she said not. I'm not sure many of the audience agreed. One young man came up to me afterwards and said he liked my question, and said he'd always called her the "Mischief Makar". She certainly told some good stories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.