Local Boys Comfort Fund

I've spent today going through yet more files of Mum's photos, newspaper cuttings etc, etc.  

I came across this programme from August 1945, price 6d. In the Shropshire village where I come from they used to have fund-raising events for the local servicemen's Comfort Fund. I see that Grandad was on the committee, an uncle was a secretary and Mum  (aged 19) played the piano for the choir and singing at the concert.

Inside it gives details of some of the events:

. Carnival Parade including Best dressed conveyance.

. Six-A-Side Football contests for Ladies and Men (Married versus single). Entries to my grandad.

. Judging of best decorated house.

. Maypole Dance.

. Sports - Children's races including the Bun and lemonade race and the Sticky     bun contest. (Prize money 1st - 1/-,2nd -6d).
  Adult races included 100 yards race - married men over 40 (most   others would be serving).

. Sideshows

. Teas (I imagine Nan would have been involved in that).

. Dancing 8.30 pm - 1.00 am to The Rhythm Boys Band. Admission 2/6, H.M. Forces 1/6.

It sounds a fun day at a dark time in history. 

My family didn't know that three months later, Mum's beloved brother would be killed when his Lancaster crashed on landing when returning from a raid in Germany.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.