Waxwings and more!

I had a lovely day out yesterday. We went to Ynys Hir Nature Reserve at Machynlleth via Newtown where I saw a flock of waxwings and three bullfinches. I was so pleased to see the waxwings as I appeared to be the only person in the area not to have seen any. There are more photos in extras, I had real trouble choosing the main one.

We saw a number of birds at the reserve, the highlight being a ring-tailed hen harrier although it was too far away to get a decent shot. It was a great treat to walk around with the sun shining!

We then went to Aberystwyth Pier to see the starling murmuration. Unfortunately they arrived in small groups and went straight into the roost but still good to see so many birds there. We finished by having fish and chips on the promenade, it just had to be done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.