ABSTRACT OF SQUARES

Some months ago I started this chalk design, with little patches of marbled or otherwise decorated paper in between. There was a reason why I worked utterly slow on it. In the past I had for some years drawn with chalk, every day in a quarter of an hour one painting.
Then I had taken a long pause.
Last year I had found on my bookshelves a book written by Gerhard Gollwitzer, with the title: Die Kunst als Zeichen (Art is a sign), ed. 1958.
The first part of this book is an introduction describing how to live with art, the second part describes practical steps,
I had read every day a bit in the first part. Found it interesting.
Learned that Gerhard Gollwitzer had been a famous, german art pedagogue, who had lived from 1906-1973.
Perhaps someone would find this book a bit old-fashioned. That did not bother me.
When I came to the practical steps to be set, an assignment was given to draw squares on a big paper and fill the squares with all kinds of shapes and structures, I followed not this, but wanted to discover the feeling of colours that I used in the squares. Some days I completed my assignment and now I use it as a contribution to the Abstract Thursday Challenge, so wonderfully hosted by youoregon1.
The whole day it had rained more or less. No desire for walking in the rain we had.

My haiku:

Speak colour, tell me
Are you warm or cold, tell me
Please tell me right now.

And the proverb:

All the colours of the Rainbow.

1600-01  Shakespeare,  The Merry Wives of Windsor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.