Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Return of the Ring

As Mum has grown older her weight has reduced to the point when her engagement ring fell off her finger a few weeks ago.  It is indicative of the weight she has lost as until recently she couldn't even get it off her finger.

She has a strong emotional attachment to the 70 year old ring, and I was extremely pleased that a local jeweller was able to help me get the ring re-sized, without the rigmarole of having to take Mum out from her care home.  I picked up the ring today; cleaned and sparking as brightly as the day my father bought it in 1945.  I know when I return it back to her on Saturday it will make her day.

Photographing jewellery is not easy, and I literally blitzed this with three macro flashes.  I used a plastic wallet with white paper inside to reflect even more light onto the stone with some black velvet behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.