Leiflife

By Leiflife

East Beach Fishing Dance

This was one of those times when I stopped at the beach on the way to somewhere else, grabbed my camera, and walked toward the water on faith. It didn't look promising. One small egret stood at the place where sand meets sea. She stood very still as though stillness was all she knew, and I shot for the heck of it. Then everything changed. A wind came up, the current moved faster, and the little egret seemed to grow in size and purpose. She began to stride this way and that. The muscle and sinew beneath her feathers seemed to ripple with life and power. Suddenly she tiptoed onto a spit of sand and stared with all her might at the water. The shot above is the moment of victory. Water still drips from her beak, and if you look closely you will see a tiny fish. 

I stayed quite a while, forgot all the pain of the day before, and was wonderfully entertained. I enclose two extras of that marvelous stride. I want to be that egret finding her power. I want to be that purpose with every cell of my body. I want to dance that dance!

For those who have shown great sympathy and encouragement during recent trials, you may be glad to know that I have made the appointment to get the shot that just might relieve the sciatic pain. Thanks little egret!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.