Wakey, Wakey Beulah!

Dear Diary,

A visit to my friends farm to check on lambing.  None yet and probably not until the middle of next month.  So I went to the barn to visit with Beulah who was fast asleep in the hay.  It took some time to raise her but the possibility of a good back scratch and perhaps a baked potato finally got her up on her feet.

(I used a watercolor/pen and ink processing.  I hope to do a children's book about Beulah and her friend Gertie the sheep and this is the technique I will use for it.)

Beulah is a very lovely Tamworth variety of pig and she has the most beautiful red/brown hair.  I remember my students being shocked to learn that pigs have hair!  Very stiff and bristly but hair nonetheless.  She also has the sweetest nature.  I really think she believes she is one of the sheep she hangs out with. (Extra shot)  They get along so well.

I love visiting the farm and it was the perfect day for it.  No so today.  It is snowing quite hard and it will be an afternoon for shoveling for me.  It is good to know that Beulah and her friends are safely tucked away in their barn. They only thing you can be certain of with New England weather is that it will change...frequently!

I had some bad news about my friend Dotty yesterday.  She fell and fractured her pelvis.  She is in hospital now but will soon move to rehab.  The poor dear woman, she will be 95 next week.  But she is a fighter and hopefully she will recover enough to come home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.