Dickens Twist

Oliver Twist

“There are a good many books, are there not, my boy?” said Mr. Brownlow, observing the curiosity with which Oliver surveyed the shelves that reached from the floor to the ceiling.

“A great number, sir,” replied Oliver; “I never saw so many.”

“You shall read them if you behave well,” said the old gentleman kindly; “and you will like that, better than looking at the outsides, - that is, in some cases, because there are books of which the backs and covers are by far the best parts.”

Well, this is a book that contradicts the quote and has a fab cover and is a brilliant book.  A Christmas Carol is my favourite book, so I treated myself to an illustrated edition, which is just lovely.  I re-read it every couple of years at Christmas.  Not the most innovative of blips, but I did want to share this wonderful book as part of the Dickens challenge. Thanks so much to Hildasrose and Chantler63 for organising this fabulous challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.