Watchet to Minehead

Today I have been on a big long walk.  Yay!  Today I have walked all the way from Watchet to Minehead (as far as you can see in the background of this Blip) but do you know what I had to do first?....................  I had to go on a bus.  Now as those of you who follow my Blips regularly will know; I don’t like buses.  When I see a bus I pull on my lead and do my most ferocious woofing.  So I had to have a little pep talk first.

Funnily enough, I don’t have a problem actually travelling on a bus.  And I was so excited to be going on big long walk, that I was on my bestest behaviour.  There were a few people waiting at the bus stop so I just sat down in good dog mode to wait for the bus.  Everyone wanted to make friends with me.  Loads of people made a fuss of me and told me I was very pretty and very well behaved.  And then when we got on the bus I immediately just lay down and even when a lady came and sat next to Ann and almost stood on me, I didn’t make a scene.  The lady said I was being so quiet that she didn’t realise I was there.  She tickled me behind my ears and said, ‘What a well behaved little dog.’  Ann was soooo proud of me.

And then we started our big long walk.  At first I thought it was going to be a boring big long walk because I was on my lead.  ……………..But that was only because the first field that we walked through had loads of sheep in and I can’t be trusted not to go chasing.  After that I was off my lead for pretty much the whole walk.  Though I did have to go on my lead when we walked along the edge of a golf course because I have stolen golf balls in the past?!

However, the first part of the walk was very, very, muddy.  And we also had to do a bit of a long detour through what can only be described as a mud bath (because there’d been a landslide and the coastal path wasn’t safe).  At least I was able to go for a swim later and get clean.  Ann’s walking boots & trousers are still caked in mud!  

I was in super duper energetic bouncy mode today and when we walked along Dunster Beach I met a lady playing ball with two little spaniels so I went and sat right in front of her and gave her my appealing look.  She was worried that I would steal the ball but Ann said there was no way that I’d be speedier than her spaniels.  So she threw the ball and I didn’t stand a chance of getting it?!!  Boohoo.  #gettingoldisnofun   I just trotted after Ann and pretended that I didn’t want to play.

When we got back to Minehead, Ann wanted a coffee but we couldn’t find anywhere suitable.  She didn’t want to go into a pub and felt that both of us were looking a bit too much like undesirables to go into anywhere half decent.  Minehead is a bit of a strange place………………  It’s full of pubs, restaurants, cafes & tattoo studios.  And not many people??!!  Trying to find somewhere to buy a bottle of diet coke & a newspaper was a major challenge.

Anyway I’ve walked more than 13 miles today.  Annoyingly Ann’s ‘fitbit zip’ (which measures how far we walk) has stopped syncing properly so we can’t record our steps and we’ve walked more than 30,000 today.  Grrrrr…………

Extremely tired now.  Ann’s just had a very nice dinner and is slobbing in front of the TV.  As for me…………….. I got my dinner at 5.30pm but I haven’t even looked at it.  I’m just too tired.  I’ve had a really nice day but I haven’t had any snooze time……….

And I’m going on another big long walk tomorrow……………………

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.