On a platter

Tonight I'm catching up with my cousin Lynn and husband Colin. For a change this is Dad's side of the family :-)

I've spared you a blip of my new fridge, and gone for a piece of smoked rainbow trout on a Barry Brickell platter. Barry was a friend of Mum and Dad's. If we visited Dad would go in first as Barry didn't always wear clothes ;-)

Since Barry died a couple of weeks ago Dad has shared some interesting recollections about him.

Barry lamented the time it took to raise steam. Dad suggested a naval boiler and drew him a sketch on his desk pad. Barry had a unit made and was rapt with the result. It served him a long time until he converted to electricity. Dad described Barry Brickell "a brilliant mind, fantastic artist and conservationist".

Dad has numerous pieces of Barry's pottery he gave to Mum and Dad. I'm fortunate to have this platter and a few mugs Mum was going to send to the hospice shop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.