Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Moving parts

Laid low by a bug this past day, starting to come round. There's a comfy chair I like so much it's become threadbare and worn - like me - so it's being replaced (not like me, yet) in the best room. Gill's going to patch the arms so I can use it in the work room.

But before she could do that she had to dust down the sewing machine. Could I oil it? she asked. It's never been oiled. The little oil bottle, brush and screw drivers that came with it were still in their plastic bags, so was the five-year-warranty from 1974. It might be an idea in future, I suggested, to shorten the service intervals from forty years.

Anyway, since its innards were exposed, I thought I'd try a close-up. A while back I'd been trying to get some machinery shots for a commercial brief. In the event they went with shots from nature mostly, married to clever tag lines. The web site is up and running now with seven images from my collection. One of them, of people climbing up Aconcagua in the Andes, was taken with a 35mm Olympus in about 2003. Another, of a swan had a file size of just over a megabyte. It only goes to show what rubbish is spoken about picture quality and detail. If someone wants a picture to say something it has to be appropriate. It also shows that clients don't always know what they want, but they know what they like when they see it. 

I couldn't decide whether I liked this best in monochrome or colour (extra). What do you think?




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.